Top Five CFL Quarterbacks of All Time

Football, NCAAF, CFB, NFL article at Knup Sports

The CFL has had a lot of great QB’s. Read this article to see the top five.

The CFL had its inaugural season way back in 1958. Since then there have been many great quarterbacks that have come and gone.

In this article, we will look at the five best quarterbacks in the history of the CFL.

5. Tom Wilkinson

Tom Wilkinson played 15 years in the CFL from 1967-1981 and in those 15 seasons he only missed the playoffs once. Wilkinson played most of his career with the Edmonton Eskimos and led them to eight Grey Cup appearances and won five of them.

Wilkinson was the 1974 CFL MVP and was a three time all-star. In his career Wilkinson passed for over 22,000 yards and threw 154 touchdowns.

People say that Wilkinson did not really look like a quarterback but possessed the leadership skills to make him a successful quarterback despite his size. Wilkinson also played for the BC Lions and Toronto Argonauts before joining the Eskimos in 1972.

4. Anthony Calvillo

Anthony Calvillo played in the CFL for nearly 20 years, from 1994-2013. First he joined the US based team the Las Vegas Posse. After the US project collapsed he joined the Hamilton Tiger-Cats for two years before joining the team he most known for, the Montreal Alouettes.

Calvillo is first at almost every CFL passing record. He leads the CFL in passing yards, touchdowns and completions. Calvillo has over 79,000 yards, over 400 touchdowns and over 5,000 completions.

Calvillo is a three time Grey Cup champion and a three time CFL MVP. Calvillo was inducted into the CFL Hall of Fame in 2017.

3. Warren Moon

While Warren Moon was not in the CFL for long he did leave a long lasting impact. In just six short seasons from 1978-1983 he was the quarterback for one of the greatest dynasties in CFL history.

Moon played for the Edmonton Eskimos for all six of his seasons and won the Grey Cup in five out of those six seasons. Moon was also named the Grey Cup MVP twice.

After leaving the CFL Warren Moon went on to sign with the Houston Oilers of the NFL and ended up having a solid NFL career after his Hall of Fame CFL career.

2. Damon Allen

Damon Allen may not be the number one overall quarterback in the CFL but he is the best running quarterback in the history of the CFL. Allen was a true dual threat quarterback and played in the CFL for 23 seasons from 1985-2007.

Over the course of his long career Allen played for a lot of teams and won four Grey Cups, three of which came with different teams. Allen won two with the Edmonton Eskimos in 1987 and 1993.

He then won with the BC Lions in 2000 and finally with the Toronto Argonauts in 2004. When Allen retired in 2007 he finished his career as the CFL’s third all time rusher as a quarterback.

1. Doug Flutie

Doug Flutie is the GOAT of the CFL. From 1990-1997 Flutie played with three different teams and won the CFL MVP award six times.

Flutie was a three time Grey Cup champion, once with the Calgary Stampeders and twice with the Toronto Argonauts. Flutie left the CFL with 270 touchdowns and over 41,000 passing yards.

After leaving the CFL like Warren Moon Flutie went on to have a solid career in the NFL with teams like the Buffalo Bills.

To Top