Top 5 World Series Winners Since 2000

Baseball, MLB article at Knup Sports

Looking back on 20+ years of World Series. Read this article to find out which team is number one.

It’s hard to believe that it has been 22 years since the turn of the new millennium. Since then and as of June 2022 there have been 21 World Series winners crowned. We are going to look at the five best World Series winners since 2000 and determine why they are on this list.

5. 2015 Kansas City Royals

The 2015 Kansas City Royals were an excellent team. The Royals won 95 games in 2015 making them American League Central champions and they also had the best record in the entire American League.

Led by star players like catcher Salvador Perez and 1st baseman Eric Hosmer. The Royals hit 155 home runs placing them in the top 10 in the league in home runs. They also ranked top 5 in stolen bases with 104.

The Royals faced the New York Mets in the 2015 World Series. They won the series 4-1 winning the series with a score of 5-4 in their home stadium.

4. 2009 New York Yankees

The 2009 Yankees had arguably the GOAT of Major League Baseball in Derek Jeter. During the 2009 season Jeter hit 18 home runs and stole 30 bases. Jeter helped the Yankees win 103 games in 2009, a league best.

In the playoffs, the Yankees blazed past the Minnesota Twins 3-0 in the ALDS. They then defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-2 in the ALCS. They finally made it to the World Series where they faced the defending champion Philadelphia Phillies.

The Yankees were also able to get long time MLB veteran Alex Rodriguez a ring.

3. 2005 Chicago White Sox

The 2005 Chicago White Sox broke franchise and league records. They broke the league record for holding leads in games with 37 straight. They also broke the franchise record for home runs.

The White Sox had the league’s best road record at 52-29 and had three eight game winning streaks all before July 1.
The White Sox had a great roster as well that featured four all stars. The all stars are Pitchers Mark Buehrle and Jon Garland as well as 1st baseman Paul Konerko and Outfielder Scott Podsednik.

The White Sox went 11-1 in the 2005 postseason and were the first team in MLB history to clinch all three playoff series on the road. They ended their legendary postseason by defeating the Houston Astros in the World Series.

2. 2004 Boston Red Sox

The 2004 Boston Red Sox didn’t only make history by breaking the legendary Curse of the Bambino set when the Red Sox traded Babe Ruth to the Yankees in 1918. They also became the first team to come back from a 3-0 series deficit in the ALCS against the rival New York Yankees and win the series 4-3.

The Red Sox won 98 games in 2004 but they did not win their division, that title went to the Yankees who won 101 games. However what makes the 2004 Red Sox great is that they were able to overcome their big brother team in the Yankees who had beaten up on them so long.

With a high powered offense that featured the likes of David Ortiz and Manny Ramirez the Red Sox capped off their legendary season by defeating the St. Louis Cardinals in the World Series 4-0.

1. 2016 Chicago Cubs

The 2016 Chicago Cubs had been hyped up since the end of the 2015 season and boy did they meet those expectations and then some. The Cubs won a league best 103 games in 2016 and were wire-to-wire division champions.

The Cubs breezed through the National League playoffs, they defeated the San Francisco Giants 4 games to 1 in the NLDS. They then defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4 games to 2 in the NLCS.

When the Cubs made it to the World Series they faced the Cleveland Indians and they quickly fell down 3 games to 1, however they were able to claw their way back into the series and they forced a game seven. The Cubs won the game seven 8-7 in extra innings and captured their first world series win since 1908 making it 108 years since their last win.

The Cubs broke one of the longest title droughts not only in MLB history but in sports history.

To Top