Every Northwest Division Teams Best Player of All Time

Basketball, NBA, NCAAB, CBB, College Hoops article at Knup Sports

NBA team GOAT’s part four. Read this article to see the best of the Northwest Division.

We have finished the Eastern Conference in this GOAT series and now we move to the Western Conference. The NBA’s Western Conference has great teams like the Lakers and Warriors and many other great storied franchises.

In this article we will take a look at the Northwest Division. The teams in the Northwest division are the Nuggets, Timberwolves, Thunder, Trail Blazers and Jazz.

Denver Nuggets: Alex English

Many readers may have been expecting Nikola Jokic to be here but he’s not quite there yet. Alex English ruled the 80s basketball scene in Denver. English played for the Nuggets for 11 seasons from 1979-1990.

While in Denver English averaged nearly 26 points per game. He won the NBA scoring title in 1982 and made eight all star games. English still leads the Nuggets in all time games, minutes played, points and assists.

English also scored more points than any other player in the entire 1980s decade. Finally, English is one of only 11 players to score at least 25 points per game in eight straight seasons.

Minnesota Timberwolves: Kevin Garnett

Kevin Garnett is pretty much all alone when talking about the greatest Timberwolves players. Garnett played for the T-Wolves from 1995-2007 and then again from 2014-2016.

Garnett is the franchises all time leader in games, minutes, steals, assists, blocks, points and free throws. Garnett doubles the next closest competitors Kevin Love and Andrew Wiggins in points and games played.

Unfortunately for the Timberwolves, Garnett never brought a title to Minnesota and left for Boston in 2007 and ended up winning a title there in 2008. Garnett ended up coming back to Minnesota in his final two seasons in the NBA.

Oklahoma City Thunder: Kevin Durant

It was between Kevin Durant and Russell Westbrook and Durant just beat out Westbrook for the title of best Thunder player. Durant won the NBA MVP award in 2013 after breaking Michael Jordan’s record of consecutive games scoring 25 points or more at 41.

Durant led the league in points per game in four seasons as a player for the Thunder. Durant played for the Thunder for nine seasons before joining the Warriors.

Durant left a lasting impression on the Thunder formerly known as the Seattle Supersonics. He is now trying to get out of Brooklyn.

Portland Trail Blazers

Clyde Drexler played for the Blazers from 1983-1994. In those 11 seasons Drexler was an eight time all star and leads the team in all time points, rebounds, free throws and steals.

Drexler averaged 21 points per game and led the Blazers to the NBA Finals in 1992 but met Michael Jordan and were unable to defeat him.

Utah Jazz: Karl Malone

Karl “The Mailman” Malone played for the Jazz from 1985-2003 and is definitely in the conversation for second best player of the 1990s behind Jordan of course.

During his time with the Jazz Malone won two MVP awards and made it to back to back NBA Finals. Malone leads the team all time in points and rebounds. Malone averaged an amazing 25 points and 10 rebounds per game.

To Top